Oteng Releases Nyankonton Rhythm

OtengtusHighlife lovers should get ready to dance! Sound engineer, Justice Oteng best known for his ‘Wei Ye Oteng’ signage has released Nyankonton Rhythm, a compilation of great highlife songs put together for the first time in Ghana.

Kumi Guitar, Quarme Zaggy, Kofi B, Obrafour, Akos of Mentor fame and Afriyie are the artistes feature on the compilation which is scheduled for release on Tuesday, September 15.

Kumi Guitar, Quarme Zaggy and Kofi B have already recorded their songs—Awareɛ, Odo Bi and Awɔ respectively and Oteng has hinted that other artistes are working on theirs as well.

For Oteng, ‘Nyankonton’ Rhythm, it’s his own way of awakening the interest of highlife music in the country, which he said is facing a fierce competition from other foreign genres alien to the Ghanaian culture.

“As a sound engineer, I thought it wise to use my craft and skill to project Ghanaian music. And that which makes us stand out from the rest is highlife. This is what inspired me to come up with this project and I’m happy with the progress of work so far,” he said on Pluzz FM.

According to Oteng who has been in the music business for over a decade, he selected the artistes based on their versatility as well as their unique presentations.

“Everyone knows the worth of these artistes and I have no regret selecting them for this project. I am impressed with the work of the three artistes and I know the others will put in their best as well,” he added.

He intends to release a song each week until the compilation is completed.


Leave a Reply